The Emperor - February 2008


Robert Levin, fortepiano



Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5, "Emperor"
Reicha: Overture in D major
Schubert: Symphony No. 3

Nicholas McGegan, conductor
Robert Levin, fortepiano


Beethoven’s final piano concerto, the “Emperor,” is widely considered one of his crowning achievements. From its first grand moments to its triumphal ending to the gentle sweetness of its middle movement, the piece is imbued with a noble and sublime character.  The outstanding fortepianist Robert Levin returns to PBO’s stage for this concerto, where his artistry and finesse will bring Beethoven’s music to life.  Nicholas McGegan will also lead the orchestra in the Third Symphony of Beethoven’s younger contemporary, Schubert, and in the Overture in D by his Czech contemporary Reicha – which has a playful surprise to offer.

Listen to our NEW Concert "Prelude" Podcast

Read/listen to an NPR Interview with Robert Levin on improvisation

Feb 7      8:00 pm     San Francisco
Feb 8      8:00 pm     Palo Alto
Feb 9      8:00 pm     Berkeley
Feb 10    7:30 pm     Berkeley

To purchase tickets, call (415) 392-4400 or Buy Tickets Online